MemberTies includes a selection of predefined reports, designed to provide printed access to the most common information. There are, of course, hundreds of ways you might choose to use the system to track your data, especially when you consider the options available with custom fields or items & categories. If you are in need of a special report that is not available and cannot be created using the user-defined reports capabilities in MemberTies Professional, let us know. If the report you need makes sense for general public distribution, we'll probably add it to the system. Otherwise, we can create reports to meet specific requirements as "custom reports" for a fee.
When you select a report, a "Settings" window will normally appear to enable you to control various things specific to the report you chose, such as the sort, the title, the label format, etc., In addition, most reports accept "Criteria" to control which records are displayed on the report (i.e., a criteria might be, "City = MyTown" to only display members of a particular city. In most cases, the system remembers the settings you selected from one use of a report to the next.
You may have a report settings option to choose the address format. The idea behind this is that if you have addresses for both the United States and the United Kingdom (each of which have different address formatting requirements), you can set the address format for the United States, select only United States addresses, print them, and then do the same for the United Kingdom. Only one address format can be in use on a given report.
The "Current Address"
MemberTies Professional enables you to use multiple addresses per membership record. If the report you are printing includes address data (or even if address data is allowed as criteria) it means the system is making an association between the main data (say membership name information) and address data. When this happens, the system needs to know which address to use in the event that more than one is available. If a Settings window is available for the report, part of the available criteria will be the "Address to Use", and it will default to "Current Address". Since every membership record has one address marked as "current", that's the one that will be used on the report, unless you specify otherwise.
The "Preview Mode" checkbox on the Reports window toggles the view from preview mode to data mode. If the report you are viewing has a header row that you want to be able to see while scrolling through the report, turn Preview Mode off. When preview mode is off, the page count displayed on the report represents the "screen page", i.e., what can be seen on the screen at one time is considered to be a "page." To see how many pages a report will actually be when printed, turn preview mode back on.
Note: Multi-column reports will display as a single long column if preview mode is turned off, because it disables the formatting.
The font used for reports and labels is specified in Report Preferences.
The logo specified in Report Preferences will automatically appear on system and user-defined standard reports, rosters, directories, and cards.
Printers vary widely. The system uses a general setting for report margins designed to accommodate most printers. If your reports print the text a little too much to the right or left, you can adjust the margin to pull or push the data on the report as a whole. See Adjusting Report Margins for more information.
|•||Printer settings can be changed before printing the report by choosing File > Print Setup, or by clicking the Setup button on the Print window. This will display whatever printer setup dialog is available for your printer on your system.|
|•||If the report contains multiple pages, you can page through it using the Page Up, Page Down, Home, and End keys, or by using the arrow buttons on the toolbar.|
|•||To regenerate the report using the current settings, click the Redisplay button.|
|•||To change report settings, click the Settings button.|
|•||The Report Settings window includes a checkbox labelled "Display Now." If this checkbox is checked, the report will be generated and displayed as soon as the Report Settings window is closed. If the checkbox is cleared, you must click Display on the Reports window after the Report Settings dialog closes. This option is provided for you in case you want to save your report settings, but need to verify something before retrieving a large amount of data.|
|•||You can create your own versions of various system-defined reports by taking advantage of the Saved Report feature. See Saving Custom Reports for more information.|
Click here for a list of system-defined reports.