Using the Event Log

Professional Version Only


Table of Contents   Previous Page  Next Page    

MemberTies Professional includes an "event logging" feature that will maintain a log of various "high level" membership, group, and activity record changes.  By "high level" we mean that the system will not track the change to each and every field.  There are two reasons for this: 1) the resulting log would be massive, and 2) the log would not be very readable, because it would have to track the actual values the database knows about, i.e., "statecd changed to 17" isn't very user friendly.

Instead, the event log will note that a record was opened, updated, created, deleted, or closed, and will also track things like email sent (address and subject line), check-ins, backups, restores, and various other changes in the system.  It does not track changes made to dropdown lists under the Tools menu, since most organizations lock this down via security if they're concerned about it.

If database size is a concern, it is recommended that you export the log to a file on a regular basis, and then clear the log table.  The appropriate schedule must be determined based on the activity in your database.

Note: Several Security Group settings apply to the event log, allowing you to control who can view the log, enable/disable it, and manage the data.

Log Columns

The following data is tracked in the log:

Date - The date and time the log entry is made.
Area - The area of the system that generated the log.
User - The user who caused the action that generated the log entry.
Log Entry - The event that occurred.

Managing the Event Log

The following options are available on the event log window:

Enable Log - Select this option to turn logging on, or clear it to stop logging.
Sort - Controls how the list is sorted. If you have multiple users, you may want to occasionally change to the sort by User, then Area, then Date. Normally, the default sort by user and date is the most usable.
Refresh - Causes the list to refresh with the current log data.
Delete File - Click this icon to delete the entire log from the database.
Delete - Click this icon to delete the currently selected log entries.
Export to File - Click this icon to write the currently selected log entries to a text file you specify.